113/365 drawings: Avril Lavigne album cover

Stimulus words that come with a big dose of nostalgia send me down rabbit holes of research. The theme for this drawing was the 2000s – and a lot of stuff I remember and really love happens to be from 1999, inconveniently enough. I’ve been wanting to draw an album cover for a while and I loved Avril then. Still do, in fact. She has pipes, her songs are a lot of fun, some of them have big emotions in them and I can even forgive the big ball of cheese that is ‘Sk8er Boi’. This was a delight to draw – I love the crossbones heart in particular and I think I did a good job on the typography, for once, and the hair. I might have made her face a bit too wide and her eyes are misaligned and mismatched (sorry, Avril). The long layered necklaces were surprisingly hard to do over the bold print shirt / jacket (remember casual suiting?). Overall, had a good time with this one. Stimulus word: the 2000s. Time: 62 minutes.

Leave a comment